Love Bites, But So Does Ivy

Bienvenue! 

Welcome, friends! Ivy here, everyone’s favorite bartender. Carly Devereaux may disagree, but she can kiss my…absinthe.

It has been brought to my attention that today is National Drink Wine Day. I think it’s only fitting that I take over this blog today. Given my insatiable appetite for…wine.

Enough of that for now. It seems I have a word limit for this post. So, I will leave you with one of my favorite scenes. If I do say so myself, which I do. Even if it does leave me feeling a bit…peckish.

Excerpt from “A Kiss to Build a Dream On”

A cold wind blew through the bar and Alcide stepped into the bar, he was dressed to go out with Josey and Ivy, in full 1920’s gangster attire, suit, hat, and dangerous.

“Is there a problem here?” he asked. 

“I’m just here to take my WIFE home,” Chandler said, still holding her arm. 

“Chloe do you want to go?” Alcide’s black eyes turned to her. 

“No.” 

“There’s your answer,” Alcide said, he reached into his breast pocket and pulled out a clove cigarette from the case and lit it. 

“I don’t think you know who I am,” Chandler said. 

Ivy’s laugh rang out through the bar, breaking the silence. Alcide blew out a stream of smoke before replying, “I daresay that you don’t know who I am.” 

Another cold breeze blew through the bar, blowing Chandler’s perfectly styled hair around his face. He paled even over his fake for TV tan. 

He looked at Jared then, “Go ahead and have her. I know who you are. You are the nerd that tutored her through Calculus. She wouldn’t have graduated if it wasn’t for you. Stupid cow. You wanted her then? She’s yours now.” 

Another cold breeze blew, and Ivy was standing in front of Chandler, “It’s time for you to go.” 

“Oh really? And you’re going to make me?” 

“Please?” Ivy begged Alcide. 

“Not now, mais cher.”

She nodded at Alcide, then reached out to Chandler, running her fingernails across his cheek. He flinched as she drew blood then brought her finger up to her lips. She ran her tongue across her finger, smiling, her eyes never leaving Chandler’s. 

“Until I see you again,” she said with a wink. 

Want to read more? Click the link below! It’s FREE on Kindle Unlimited.

Amazon Buy Link: https://amzn.to/4bJfIIK

Leave a comment